Defining Geekdom

Defining Geekdom

If you’ve ever heard of so-called “fake geek girls”, hopefully you’ll have a better appreciation of what I’m saying here.

In truth, since the construct of “geekdom” has expanded to cover a broad range of interests over the years, its defining characteristics have grown increasingly nebulous. It used to be that geeks or nerds were stereotyped as social rejects who struggled with attracting the opposite sex, but given how geekdom has grown into a vast subculture in its own right (as the vast crowds at the annual Comic-Con attest), I’m not even sure if that applies anymore.

At any rate, I cannot fathom why pretty girls who are interested in geekdom are written off as fake by male geeks. You’d think we would all appreciate the company of beautiful women who share our interests. I know I would!

One thought on “Defining Geekdom

  1. I’ve been going to conventions like Dragon Con since I was 7 years old. I’m a cofounder of a convention in Charleston now, I gave many years of my life to fanfic, and I grew up with Mom’s Star Wars collection in our house. So after spending my life surrounded by geekdom, I have a theory – male geeks who are social rejects feel like they “earned” their geek cred by the torment geekdom caused them. They feel like society has hazed them, and by getting past high school bullies and decades of “geek = bad”, they’ve earned entrance into some kind of elite club. And they’re pissed that geek is suddenly chic, because now their “investment” of torment is moot.

    When they see a beautiful woman cosplaying or talking about video games, they think “SHE didn’t have to go through all the crap I did. SHE just walked right into our culture without consequence.” First of all, it’s BS because many pretty women grew up ugly, awkward, and bullied. I like to think I’m pretty enough, but I was certainly bullied for my interests and my appearance in childhood. For that, I “earned” my cred just as much as they did.

    But the second point is that it doesn’t matter. No one NEEDS to earn the right to like video games or comic books. Geek culture is full of really fun, interesting stuff that can appeal to many types of people. And it’s possible to be invested in geek culture casually, rather than devoting your entire life and living space to WOW raids and action figures. So of course, I agree! I appreciate having attractive geeks around, especially those with interests outside of geekdom.

What did you think?

