Barbie Redesign

Barbie Redesign

This is something I drew to cheer myself up after some recent unpleasant happenings both in my personal life and on the news. My sister went through a big Barbie phase back in the day, and I felt creating my own variation on something that’s brought joy to so many little girls would brighten my mood.

This is not an official redesign from Mattel. I believe they’ve already released a large number of non-white dolls in their long history, but Barbie the blond remains the one everyone knows. So I figured that by redesigning Barbie into an African chick, I’d get a stronger reaction out of people than if I passed her off as a separate character with less recognition.

Barbie (c) Mattel, of course.

One thought on “Barbie Redesign

What did you think?

