The Little Mermaid

The Little MermaidThis is my personal interpretation of the mermaid heroine from the famous Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale “The Little Mermaid”. Her pose is loosely based on the statue in Denmark named after the character, although the oyster piercings on her tail are from the original fairy tale.

What I find most fascinating about the Andersen original is how bittersweet its ending became. In the story’s first draft the mermaid simply dissolves into sea foam after a move of self-sacrifice, but in later drafts she becomes a spirit of air who can ascend to heaven after doing good deeds for three centuries. However, I must admit that I never cared for the popular Disney adaptation (I think it was because the sea witch scared me when I was little).

One thought on “The Little Mermaid

What did you think?

